Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

This is the blog of
Liliane Bi-Dyke Comics
a new page of bi-dyke comics daily

Marguerite the Multicolored Cow
2005-05-19-2:23 a.m.

Waga waga!! New tip of the hat to a great and fun children's story. Now it will of course be an excellent thing if you can read French, since it is Marguerite, La Vache Multicolore (yes the whole story for children large and small, with illustrations, is there).

But if you don't read French, the story is like this: Marguerite was a curious and stubborn cow who insisted on going to see the rainbow at the other end of the field. And she ended up multicolored. The farmer and the other cows were afraid of her difference and she was banished to the barn. Finally a small curious and stubborn boy from the city (who was used to differences) came to visit and insisted on befriending Marguerite, and discovered that her teats had differently flavoured milk depending on the color of the teat. Since he doesn't "become infected" and fall over dead (or muticolored) the farmer tries it, and then takes her to market, where she is shunned by the townspeople. Some (curious and stubborn) children manage to taste some of her wonderful milk when adults aren't looking, and start a vogue. Marguerite becomes feted in market after market and wins all the prizes.

Why aren't all cows multicolored? Well, we'd have only sweet beef then, which wouldn't be so good, and actually, most cows are afraid of being different.

So now you know the story, you can "read" the pictures which are priceless. A good "tolerance of difference" story that is not obnoxious, but rather, um, very sweet.
cheers!
Leanne

0 comments so far

Wednesday's strip will be late
2005-05-17-6:41 a.m.

Hullo! I just wanted to say that Wednesday's comic probably won't appear til Thursday. I had hoped to get two done today, but didn't, and I'm not going to have computer access on Wednesday. See you on Thursday!
Leanne

0 comments so far

The Blind leading the ????
2005-05-11-2:26 p.m.

Yo! I want to apologize for the late comic posting today. My computer monitor died. One doesn't realize how important a monitor is to your computing life until it is just a black dead box sitting in front of you. hmmm.

So thankfully I now have a tiny borrowed one, and a new replacement arriving tomorrow, so I was able to scan upload. Cheers!
Leanne

0 comments so far

Rusty is a homosexual!
2005-05-08-5:03 a.m.

Hello! Well, Keenspace WAS back this afternoon (Sat may 7th)... yay! And I see that buzzcomix.com has reappeared too. Hard to vote for a comic when the voting site is down!

For your entertainment and edification I present Rusty is a homosexual which is sort of a comic and sort of not, but worth your time, and has absolutely nothing witih Saint Bernards. Those of you who lived through the 60's will appreciate the artwork.
cheers!
Leanne

0 comments so far

Keenspace Down on Saturday Morning?
2005-05-07-5:02 a.m.

Sorry, folks! I am trying to login to upload Saturday's page but Keenspace seems to be down. Can't get into the comic page, the login or the stats. So I am heading to bed. Sorry for those of you who try to see the new page this morning. I'll try again when I get up. If Keenspace is back the new comic should be up by early afternoon.
Leanne

0 comments so far

Pithed at Moderntales.com
2005-05-06-5:35 a.m.

My plug today is the Donna Barr story Pithed (it's what they do to frogs) at Moderntales.com. I cannot get enough of her penwork. (click the bookcover to enter)
cheers!
Leanne

0 comments so far

Mike Gagnon gives Comics Industry Lowdown
2005-05-05-2:45 a.m.

OK, so I don't know if any of you actually even read this blog, but this is my recommendation of the day that I stumbled on while googling something. Rats, or cockroaches, or toy tool belts (you should google that and see what you get). It is called My Life in Comics, written by Mike Gagnon. He either is really good at sounding good, or has an astounding grasp of the comics publishing world. I recommend you check him out... you will learn a lot.
Leanne

0 comments so far

University Study Material!!
2005-05-04-3:39 a.m.

Dang!!! Liliane is now recommended reading material for a University of Toronto class! Professor J. Taylor has listed it on the Feminist Studies in Sexuality Syllabus. Search "FIND" for the term "bi-dyke" or "assume" to jump down to it... unfortunately the book they recommend, Assume Nothing, is pretty much out of print. Dang!!!
happy studies people!
Leanne

0 comments so far

Discovery of Spoons
2005-05-03-12:45 a.m.

It has nothing to do with Saint Bernards, but I would like to point out this beautiful Flash storypoem by Alexander C.P. Danner and John Barber called The Discovery of Spoons.

And do drop by the online shop I set up. Woo woo, I am so proud of it. OK it is not done. It needs a page 2 for the first minis, AND it needs book details with sample spreads. It shall come, even if judgement day doesn't.

Leanne

0 comments so far

Paypal oh Paypal... Shopping Online NOW!!
2005-05-02-6:57 a.m.

OK OK so, no, there isn't a new page this morning. I promise it before the end of the day. I swear I drew it, mostly, but before I finished inking it I decided that I didn't like the segue from Sunday's page. So I am going to rewrite. Sorry!!!

However I DID spend my whole bloody evening making a really nifty Online Order Page. Yes I realize it ends at minicomic #18, but it is 7am. I figured if you've lived this long without paypal buttons for lilianes #1-17, you can hang in a few days longer.

So, go check it out, do, and leave me a comment to tell me how loverly it is!! Or alternately, if there are any bugs.

Nitenite all!!
Leanne

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!